Centre Training

  • Wednesdays 5-6pm
  • Cost: Free for Members

Mentone LAC offers free training sessions for Centre Members on Wednesday afternoons throughout the season.  These free, non-compulsory sessions cover the basic skills of all the track and field events.  Please check the calendar for up-to-date scheduling information. Enquires may be sent to the Centre Secretary at mentone@lavic.com.au

Check our Facebook page for Centre Training Updates.

Coaching Panel

Mentone Track & Field Centre has a number of qualified coaches with Athletics Australia accreditation & Australian Track & Field Coaches Association membership.

These coaches offer their time to assist athletes to improve on their performances.

Some coaches will charge a fee, others may not. This will need to be discussed with individual coaches.

Please contact our coaches directly to enquire, or contact the Centre Secretary at mentone@lavic.com.au.

MENTONE LITTLE ATHLETICS COACHING PANEL

Name

Level

Description

Speciality/Interest

Email

Wayne Dyball (MLAC Coaching Coordinator)

4

Specialist Event Coach

Sprints, Hurdles, Jumps & Combined Events

dyballw@bigpond.net.au

Steve Hore

4

Specialist Event Coach

Middle & Long Distance, Sprints

steveh@afa.com.au

Efim Shuravetsky 5 Senior Coach Jumps and Combined Events ejathletics@optusnet.com.au
Lachy Freestone 2 Combined Events Club Coach Throws lachyfreestone@gmail.com
         
Rupert van Dongen 4 Specialist Event Coach Middle & Long Distance Running and Walks rupert_van_dongen@hotmail.com
Stefan Nel 2 Combined Events Club Coach Jumps stefan.eben.nel@gmail.com
Zoe Cunningham 2 Combined Events Club Coach Jumps/ Combined Events (juniors) zoeleecunningham@gmail.com

Phil Badman

3

Advanced Event Group Coach

Middle Distance

baddies3@bigpond.com

Ralph Bennett

3

Advanced Event Group Coach

Walks, Middle/Long Distance

ralphb@bigpond.net.au

Dan Burgoine

3

Combined Events Club Coach

Sprints

burgoine4@bigpond.com

Tiger Pillay

2

Combined Events Club Coach

 

tigerpillay@optusnet.com.au

Daina Kasperaitis

1 Beginning Coach Throws

D.kasperaitis@gmail.com

Katie Ryan

1

Beginning Coach

Throws

kryan.75@hotmail.com

Alexandra Woods

1

Beginning Coach

 

alexw_52@hotmail.com

Megan Rosenbrock

1

Beginning Coach

Sprints/Relay

m.rosenbrock@hotmail.com


With coaching, you will find that most little athletes will not require a large amount of training, as they will most likely be participating in a range of other sports. Please speak individually to coaches who will offer their guidance with this matter.

Coaching Code of Conduct

In addition to the Athletics Australia/ATFCA Code of Ethics, coaches on the Mentone Little Athletics Coaching Panel are expected to:

  • Act in the best interests of the Athlete and Mentone Little Athletics Centre.
  • Promote the transition of Mentone Little Athletics Centre Members to Mentone Athletics Club (Mentone Seniors).
  • When coaching at Dolamore Reserve, maintain a squad of at least 50% Mentone Athletes in order for sessions to be endorsed by Mentone Little Athletics Centre.

Introduction to Coaching Course (ITCC)

Little Athletics Victoria offers an Introduction to Coaching course, designed to give a sound basic knowledge to people with little or no previous experience in athletics. They are particularly appropriate for people coaching very young athletes at the grass roots level. The aim of the Introduction to Coaching course is to provide parents, teachers and interested sports people who are new to the sport with coaching information and activities. Refer to the LAVic website for more detail http://lavic.com.au/Education-Training/Coaching/Introduction-to-Coaching-Course-ITCC.